PFF’s 2014 Pro Bowl team includes five Broncos, but not Peyton Manning

Five Broncos made PFF's Pro Bowl team for 2014: Demaryius Thomas, Von Miller, Brandon Marshall, and Chris Harris are among the first-teamers, while Emmanuel Sanders is recognized as a reserve.

The glaring omission here, of course, is Peyton Manning, who inexplicably was beaten out by Matt Ryan, among others. No, Peyton's not playing at the level he did in 2013, but his 8.08 ANY/A ranks second only to that of Aaron Rodgers (8.55), and is far higher than his career prior to 2014 (7.24).

He may not be in the running for MVP at this point (Rodgers has been flat out dominant), but to not include Manning among the league's top six quarterbacks is a bit much. But a year ago, PFF declared that Tom Brady was no longer a top-five quarterback, so this does follow that precedent of bizarre QB claims.

Anyway, there are bigger fish to fry. For example, Peyton not making PFF's Pro Bowl team this year pales in comparison to Adrian Peterson beating him out for league MVP in 2012.

At the other end of the spectrum, the inclusion of Harris and Marshall on the first team is a credit to PFF's process. Indeed, Harris has been talked up as one of the league's best corner pretty widely this year. But the basis for that chatter is PFF's grades, and they've correctly been singing his praises since his rookie season.

For one year at least, Marshall showed that he deserves to be known as The Brandon Marshall.

Congratulations to these five Broncos; they certainly deserve this recognition.

Doug is IAOFM’s resident newsman and spelling czar. Follow him on Twitter @IAOFM