Manning named CPOY; Peterson takes MVP, OPOY; seven named to HOF

Broncos QB Peyton Manning was named the NFL's Comeback Player of the Year and the FedEx Air POY for his 2012 performance, but Vikings RB Adrian Peterson topped Manning in the voting for both league MVP and Offensive Player of the Year.

LB Von Miller received one vote for DPOY and was the only thing standing between Houston's J.J. Watt and a unanimous claim of that well deserved award.

Other award winners announced Saturday night included COY Bruce Arians of Indianapolis, OROY Washington QB Robert Griffin III, DROY Carolina LB Luke Kuechly, and Walter Payton Man of the Year Jason Witten, the Dallas tight end.

Earlier in the evening, the Pro Football HOF announced its 2013 class would include seven inductees: Vikings/Eagles wide receiver Cris Carter, Ravens LT Jonathan Ogden, Bucs/Raiders DT Warren Sapp, Cowboys guard Larry Allen, mercenary coach/GM Bill Parcells, Chiefs DT Curley Culp, and Packers LB Dave Robinson.

Doug is IAOFM’s resident newsman and spelling czar. Follow him on Twitter @IAOFM