Five Broncos make Pro Bowl; eight are alternates

Peyton Manning (13th time), Demaryius Thomas (second), Louis Vasquez, Julius Thomas, and Matt Prater (first for each) were named to the 2014 Pro Bowl.

Eight others were named as alternates: Von Miller, Manny Ramirez, Knowshon Moreno, Eric Decker, Wes Welker, Dominique Rodgers-Cromartie, David Bruton, and Zane Beadles.

Manning has equalled the number of PB selections by decent players Jerry Rice, Reggie White, and Tony Gonzalez, and only trails Bruce Matthews, who was named 14 times.

Beadles, who grades out 40th among the 61 guards to have played 50% of their teams' snaps according to PFF, led fan voting among guards, which tells you about all you need to know about fan voting.

Meanwhile, the brevity of this post tells you about all you need to know about what we think of the Pro Bowl.

Doug is IAOFM’s resident newsman and spelling czar. Follow him on Twitter @IAOFM