Broncos announce more jersey assignments

The Broncos have assigned jersey numbers to the rest of their offseason acquisitions, while a few incumbents have changed numbers.

T.J. Ward (43), Emmanuel Sanders (10), Will Montgomery (64), and the players who signed future contracts now have numbers.

Meanwhile, Duke Ihenacho (27) and Lerentee McCray (55) were among those who switched.

A handful of changes had already been announced last month.

Ward will join Steve Foley as the only significant Broncos to have worn #43; Foley remains Denver's all-time leading interceptor, with 44 career picks.

Sanders follows Jabar Gaffney, Todd Sauerbrun, and others as #10 donners, along with a quartet of quarterbacks.

Ihenacho reclaims #27 for the secondary following Knowshon Moreno's departure. Moreno and Charlie Mitchell (1963-67) are the only non-defensive backs to have worn the number for Denver. Of course, no Broncos #27 is more famous than the Smiling Assassin, Steve Atwater.

McCray's #55 has been worn by several notable Broncos linebackers, including Rick Dennison, D.J. Williams, Pete Duranko, and Keith Burns.

Doug is IAOFM’s resident newsman and spelling czar. Follow him on Twitter @IAOFM