Hanie, Brooking, Leonhard, Carter, Steven Johnson, C.J. Davis make 53-man roster

The Broncos have announced their final round of mandated cuts, with a few mild surprises along the way.

Denver decided to keep three quarterbacks, with Caleb Hanie sticking around despite a rough preseason finale in Arizona. Of course, the team could always find another QB to replace Hanie later on, whether via waivers, or another team's cut, or by way of trade. Earlier reports say the Dolphins have fielded calls on Matt Moore, who played under John Fox and Mike McCoy when all three were with Carolina.

Late veteran defensive additions Keith Brooking and Jim Leonhard both made the team as had become expected, as did cornerback Tony Carter.

Rookie linebacker Steven Johnson also survived cuts, joining long snapper Aaron Brewer as undrafted rookies on the the squad.

C.J. Davis beat out 2007 third-round pick Ryan Harris as a reserve lineman.

Along with Harris, fellow vested veterans WR Jason Hill and lineman Tony Hills were released.

The team waived DE Jamie Blatnick, S Rafael Bush, LB Jerry Franklin, T Adam Grant, S Duke Ihenacho, TE Cornelius Ingram, RB Jeremiah Johnson, LB Mike Mohamed, WR Greg Orton, WR Gerell Robinson, DT Sealver Siliga, and CB Syd'Quan Thompson.

It was reported earlier that QB Adam Weber, DT Ben Garland, G Wayne Tribue had been waived.

As expected, D.J. Williams and Virgil Green were moved to the Reserve/Suspended list.

Players who had been considered to be on the bubble but made the 53-man roster are Knowshon Moreno, Julius Thomas, Davis, Steven Johnson, and Carter.

Denver is 25th in the claiming order for players waived, a process that ends tomorrow at Noon ET. After that deadline, all unclaimed players will be come free agents available to sign with any team.

Of the fifteen players waived by Denver, all but Syd'Quan Thompson are eligible for the practice squad, which the Broncos can begin to construct tomorrow at Noon ET once players clear waivers.

Doug is IAOFM’s resident newsman and spelling czar. Follow him on Twitter @IAOFM