Atwater, Davis, Lynch, Mecklenburg among HOF semifinalists

Former Broncos Steve Atwater, Terrell Davis, John Lynch, and Karl Mecklenburg are among 27 semifinalists who will be considered for enshrinement in the 2013 HOF class, it was announced Friday.

The list of 27 former players, coaches, and executives will be pared to 15 finalists (plus the two Senior Committee candidates) in January, and the Class of 2013 will be chosen on Saturday, February 2, the day preceding SB 46 in New Orleans.

This marks the first year of Lynch's HOF eligibility, while Atwater and Mecklenburg first became HOF semifinalists a year ago. Davis has now been named a semifinalist for seven years running, but has yet to make it to the final 15.

Far as we can tell, TD continues to be the only player excluded from the HOF who was also the best player on two SB-winning teams, not to mention the greatest runner in postseason history.

Atwater and Lynch were among the most feared back-end defenders in history, while Mecklenburg's vast talents meant he could play any position in the defensive front seven.

With the recent string of Denver enshrinements (John Elway, Gary Zimmerman, Floyd Little, Shannon Sharpe), it's no longer as easy to say the Broncos are facing a bias of either oversight or poor representation in the voting room, but Davis and Randy Gradishar remain glaring omissions. Perhaps this is the year another Bronco breaks into Canton.

Doug is IAOFM’s resident newsman and spelling czar. Follow him on Twitter @IAOFM